I don’t know how past medics managed without the internet

computer and stethoscope

You should have seen the look on my dad’s face when I told him I was listening to heart murmurs on YouTube. It was a look that said ‘Say what now?’ or ‘People can do that?’ And why was I listening to them on YouTube? Because I wanted to have a clear picture of what I was looking for when I eventually examined a patient. Textbook descriptions are very helpful but the terms ‘swoosh’ and ‘gurgle’ are very relative. And vague. How do you even describe a swoosh in words without conjuring images of wind-mills in one’s mind?

He is part of a much older generation, my father. The generation that attended medical school in the 80s. To say that things are different would be a gross understatement. Back then, they only had to know like 10 cancer drugs, dissecting with gloves was a rumor, and all the knowledge that your lecturer couldn’t give you could only be found in a book.

I don’t know about you, but personally, I cannot imagine getting by in medical school right now without:

1. Class emails
And lecturers who religiously send their power-point presentations and links to reference materials. Imagine having to jot down every single thing that the lecturer said in class. Some lecturers speak very very fast. And then, later having to go to the library to refer to textbooks for anything you’d missed. Limited textbooks, some of which may have been borrowed by other students. The only other option would be to buy your own textbooks. Disclaimer: Medical textbooks are expensive!

2. Carrying all those textbooks
While we’re on the subject, it’s a well-known fact that medical books are essential and informative and big and HEAVY! I don’t know about the rest of you, but my back and arm muscles do not have adequate bulk to bear such a load day-in day-out. Thank God for e-books. They helped slim down my lecture requirements to a notebook, pen and tablet/ smart-phone with a decent-sized screen.

3. Class WhatsApp groups
For announcements and consulting classmates on past exam questions. For the sharing of x-ray photos when you can’t quite tell the difference between pneumonia and a pleural effusion. For study tips and all round moral support.

4. YouTube
As mentioned earlier, for listening to heart murmurs. And preparing for the Obstetrics and Gynaecology rotation. Trust me, we were all excited about Obstetrics and Gynaecology but none of us had seen an actual delivery that hadn’t been censored by the producers of ‘House’ or ‘Gray’s anatomy’. It made sense to go on You-tube and watch delivery videos to prime ourselves. Yes, medical students are people too and sometimes we get squeamish…but only a little bit.

5. Websites, Blogs, and social media in general
Where you can interact with other medical students all around the country and the world, and realize that you’re not at all alone in this. OSCEs are a global phenomenon. Partnering up to effect social change. Finding websites with amazing study-aids like this one: http://sketchymedicine.com/
Flash-cards like these ones have saved my life at times.
So tell me, how has the internet improved your life as a medical student today?

Vallery Logedi

University of Nairobi

Editor, MSAKE

One thought on “I don’t know how past medics managed without the internet

Leave a comment